Home > Uncategorized > Turnkey Virtual Appliance is Brilliant

Turnkey Virtual Appliance is Brilliant


I have just come into the opportunity to buy a small business that, among other things, will immediately need a new web site.  From my other posts you’ll gather I’m an IT guy.  But lately I’ve not been so hands on.  I’m working in Strategy and Architecture.  I have in the past setup the LAMP stack on a spare home PC, one step at a time.  Now I’m thinking more like a user than a techie.  I don’t want the thrill of understanding every little config file under /etc and what it does.  I also don’t want to mess with an old PC.  I have my Macbook Pro and I certainly don’t want to mess it up.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. December 21, 2009 at 4:07 am

    For performing work tasks at home, why not use one of the conversion tools to convert your existing work workstation into a virtual machine which you can then load onto your Macbook? That way you’re not actually maintaining 2 versions. If you make significant changes/installations to workstation, just re-image for the home machine.

    Easier than actually building a new appliance for home to imitate the work installation/

    • dhall2
      December 24, 2009 at 2:45 pm

      Thanks for the tip. I think the only draw back is my work computer has so much on it because I do so much context switching. The idea was to un-clutter by creating separate machines with appropriate tools for a given project or task.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

