Home > Uncategorized > What I love about Australia

What I love about Australia


I’m an American living in Australia now for just over 10 years.  I first came here because I fell in love with Sydney and the amazing beaches.  But I’ve remained for a deeper reason that I have felt, but couldn’t really put my finger on it.

I’ve had trouble explaining what it was about Australia that makes me stay.  But a recent newspaper article about a famous cartoonist has really helped to clear it up for me.

Interestingly enough, the article is about a famous political cartoonist named Pat Oliphant. Anyone who’s ever read the Washington Post would know Oliphant.   Having grown up in Washington DC, I always thought Oliphant, was an American.  Well guess what, he was born in Australia!

So, the revelation about why I love Australia is not just that Oliphant is really an Aussie.  It is what Mike Steketee, of The Australian, wrote in his 14/11 article in the Weekend Australian about Oliphant.  In there he explains it is perhaps [Oliphant’s] Australia attitudes… why Australia turns out so many world-class cartoonists: a natural inclination to challenge authority, a larrikin streak, a preference for plain speaking and not taking yourself too seriously.

When I read this I thought, wow, that’s it!  It’s the Australian Attitude. That is what I love about being here.  That is what I see in my best friends in Australia and to a large extent, it describes me.  Must be why I feel at home here.

Thanks Mike!  Thanks Australia!

 

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

